97 Years ago the magnificent buildings of St Dominic’s Convent and School rose from the African dust to stand as a tribute and monument to the achievements, dedication and resolve of its foundress, Mother Rose Niland. Mother Rose was an extraordinary woman who – despite limited resources and opposition from various parties – saw a very real need to establish a Convent School in the mining town of Boksburg. She received the Deed of Transfer encompassing 59 stands in the Township of Boksburg on the freehold farm Vogelfontein No. 5, dated 18 November 1919. East Rand Proprietary Mines (ERPM) donated the use of further stands for the use of sport and recreation. The original building, with its thirty acres of land cost one hundred thousand pounds.